scored for: toy piano, hacked instruments, paper, and electronics
duration: 60 minutes
co-created with Jordan Morley (concept, choreogrpahy and film)

Commissioned by/Premiere:

written for Phyllis Chen with support from New Music USA
January 28-30, 2016 / Invisible Dog, Brooklyn NY
March 4, 2016 / Detroit Institute of Arts, Detroit MI

About the work:

Snow is a new multimedia performance piece by composer John Glover and choreographer/puppeteer Jordan Morley combining the virtuosity of ever-inventive toy pianist Phyllis Chen, the artistry of dancers Dylan Crossman, Mistral Hay, Amber Sloan, Janie Taylor, Melissa Toogood, and the imaginations of instrument-builder Ranjit Bhatnagar and mask-maker Nina Barlow A re-working of the fairy tale The Snow Queen by Hans Christian Andersen, Snow places Chen amongst live electronics and film, puppets and set pieces that transform into musical instruments for an evening filled with unexpected sights and sounds.


(audio excerpt from 'Snow')

(video from 'Snow')

Snow: Preview video from John Glover on Vimeo.